TNIS - Modernisation

The Macquarie Valley

The Macquarie River is one of the main inland river systems in NSW.  It starts south of Bathurst where the Fish and Campbell Rivers join, and travels approximately 960km in a mostly NW direction.  The central western cities and towns of Bathurst, Wellington, Dubbo, Narromine and Warren are all situated on the Macquarie River.  The River itself flows into the internationally protected wetlands, The Macquarie Marshes.  Following a major flood event, water can flow through and beyond the Marshes into the Barwon-Darling river system upstream of Brewarrina.

Agricultural Statistics

Burrendong Dam and Macquarie River Facts